Tags

, ,

Sentinel on Patrol

Sentinel on Patrol

I have only recently started flying a Sentinel in our gate camps and roaming fleets.  I will have to admit, I do like flying her, though anyone who flies one can expect little to no recognition of any help one might provide in support.  However, that isn’t without some reason.  Sadly, even with a full rack of the best Tech 2 energy neuts, you aren’t going to cap out any ships outside of some Tech 1 frigates with low skilled pilots.  Even those will still have enough cap left to get at least one Microwarp Drive pulse started.  But, if you can keep the target in range for six seconds, your next neut cycle will definitely cap out any of the frigates.

My initial plan was to go heavy cap warfare support, with combat drones for damage.  So, I put the following together (all configurations use Pyra Rubicon 1.3 version):

[Sentinel, Vamp One]

Damage Control II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II

Warp Disruptor II
Limited 1MN Microwarpdrive I
Sensor Booster II, Scan Resolution Script
Small Capacitor Booster II, Cap Booster 200

Small Energy Neutralizer II
Small Energy Neutralizer II
Small Energy Neutralizer II

Small Ancillary Current Router I
Small Egress Port Maximizer I

Warrior II x4
Hammerhead II x4

This particular fit provided about 3870 EHP, and an effective combat range of 31.5km neutralizing range.  Neutralizing 324 GJ per six second cycle, you have the ability to get about five cycles before you need to engage the cap booster (this gets reduced to three if you have the microwarp drive active).  It’s weak point with damage support.  Four lights or two mediums were the only drones a Sentinel can field for its offence, which produces a paltry 64 DPS with only top skills. Typically, gate camp combat doesn’t last all that long so it seemed to perform well in a basic gate camp.

When on a roam, however, it didn’t perform as well.  Heavier targets where it was necessary to be agile and move around exposed how little support it could provide as it could cap itself out before you could reload the cap booster.  So, I made some changes to the configuration:

[Sentinel, Vamp Upgrade]

Damage Control II
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II
Drone Damage Amplifier II

Warp Disruptor II
Limited 1MN Microwarpdrive I
Sensor Booster II, Scan Resolution Script
Balmer Series Tracking Disruptor I, Tracking Speed Disruption Script

Small Energy Neutralizer II
Small Energy Neutralizer II
Small Nosferatu II

Small Anti-Thermic Pump I
Small Egress Port Maximizer I

Warrior II x4
Hornet EC-300 x4
Hammerhead II x2

The changes, while they reduce the amount of capacitor neutralized, it allows for stable enemy cap neutralization while using a MWD.  It also brings more “value-add” to the fleet because it gives it some minor ECM capabilities and some tracking E-War as well.  This particular configuration loses about 400 EHP, but according to Pyra, will gain about 4 minutes of continuous combat viability, as it will be able to Neut, ECM, and Tracking Disrupt, while its MWD is on.  (Note:  According to the internal fitting window in Eve Online, the setup indicates that it will only sustain itself for 30 seconds.  However, Pyra Rubicon 1.3 version shows five minutes, ten seconds).

I am also looking into putting together a solo tackler variant:

[Sentinel, Sucker Punch]

Damage Control II
Drone Damage Amplifier I
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane II

Warp Scrambler II
Limited 1MN Microwarpdrive I
Sensor Booster II, Scan Resolution Script
Balmer Series Tracking Disruptor I, Tracking Speed Disruption Script

200mm AutoCannon II
200mm AutoCannon II
Small Energy Neutralizer II

Small Capacitor Control Circuit I
Small Egress Port Maximizer I

Hornet EC-300 x4
Hammerhead II x2
Hobgoblin II x4

Since I am not as familiar with this possibility, feel free to critique this fit.. maybe you’ve seen where this has failed or succeeded.

