Wow.

Just… Wow.

JUNE 6, 2011
REYKJAVIK, ICELAND and LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
CCP and Sony Computer Entertainment Inc. (SCEI) today announced an agreement to bring the groundbreaking persistent shooter DUST 514® exclusively to PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system in Summer 2012. DUST 514 is the first console game to link players in real time with a multiplayer universe on the PC, CCP’s award winning sci-fi MMO EVE Online.

Roc’s post here: http://rocwieler.com/2011/06/07/ooc-oh-for-dusts-sake/ is a must read on this issue, as well as Minmatart’s here: http://www.minmatart.com/2011/514-and-the-marketing-machine/.  Me, I’m a bit upset because I did get one of the new Xboxes.  Officially it was because my new kid is a 13 year old gamer, and the Xbox is something his uncles have so he can game against them anytime they are up for it.  Unofficially, it was because I figured the CCP would at least port Dust 514, and me and him could be a Father/Son team that brought death and destruction from the deep recesses of Space as well as in your face on the ground.  Believe me, it would be a great bonding experience..

Now.. now, I’m very much not a happy camper.

Oh, and if you are planning to buy a PS3 because of Dust 514, wait until the game comes out.  Who knows what changes they might make to the PS3 between now and then.